Rambling Man

I stopped at CVS today during lunch to buy a pack of smokes. I waited at the register behind a tall, burly man who smelled slightly of alcohol. He had sunglasses on indoors and wore clothes that were cool probably 3 or 4 years ago. He purchased a jug of Popov and cranberry juice. At noon. As he left, all I could think was “that could have easily been me.” Instead, I am 56 days sober today…

Steve and I just returned from a week-long vacation to our favorite places – Monterey and Big Sur. I can’t say enough about our trip. It was everything I thought it would be and much more. I am so in love with Steve, more than I even knew. I thought the days of falling in love with him all over again were gone, but I was wrong.

And even more importantly, I am so happy with myself. I hiked miles and miles. I even hiked up a mountain. I didn’t know I still had all that in me. I think I looked younger and more beautiful than I have in a long time. I was full of energy and joy – so much joy, in fact, that I happy cried on no less than five occasions.

None of this would be possible if I was still drinking. My gratitude is running deep. And my resolve is firmly in place.

I will be posting a massive photo set here shortly, for posterity and also for people who would rather view them here, on a single page, than photo by photo on my Facebook. So if you’re still reading me here, I’m glad you will get to share in them as well.

And if I owe you an email or a blog visit, please forgive. I am catching up as best I can without letting myself feel bogged down. Those days are done. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Rambling Man

  1. I saw your pictures on Facebook. That looked like an incredibly fantastic trip! It's amazing how much a vacation like that can rejuvenate us and give us a new view on our world. I'm glad to hear you had such a good time. The love you share with your husband is quite evident in your pictures. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

