One Year Cigarette-Free

I know it’s all well and good to look back on one’s life and say “I have no regrets” but I swear on all that is holy, if I could go back and change one thing, it would be never picking up cigarettes. It’s not like the alcohol. At least with that, I have a bunch of fun times to look back on. Not all of it was tied up in remorse and shame and overindulgence. There were a ton of good times until those last couple, few years.

But cigarettes? I never look back on old days and think, “man, it sure was fun smoking all those cigarettes.” Ugh. No. I smell it sometimes when I run around my neighborhood and feel nothing but disgust that I ever breathed THAT into my lungs instead of pure oxygen. Gross.

Quitting smoking is hands down the best thing I ever did for my health, probably more than quitting drinking and losing weight put together. I was on track to a very early death had I continued to do it. Cheers to me for one year spent free of that burden.

Leave a Reply

