Video: UCTV – The Skinny on Obesity (Ep. 4): Sugar – A Sweet Addiction

thoroughly-milly:

My friend who just got her doctorate sent me this.  She had to do a lecture on obesity as a disease for some undergrads.

I had heard “Food is an addiction” so many times.  I heard it from her, I heard it from my sister, I read it on here, and I’m sure I saw it on TV.

So the same chemical reaction happens with sugar as alcohol and drugs?  I guess I just needed this cute little animation to explain it for me so it would click.  This is definitely something for me to think about more.

It’s nice having a friend do all the work for me.

Absolutely worth watching and highlights some of the points/provides the science for much of what I was trying to say in this post about moderation and compulsion. I thought I was out of the woods with any substance in my life being a problem, but no bones about it, sugar is now my problem. My behavior with it is so totally irrational and so very much the hallmarks of an addict (bingeing, obsession, shame cycle, lying to Steve, on and on and on).

There are different levels of damage, of course, and for many people, it may not be too late for moderation. For me, I am not so sure. Between alcohol, nicotine, food and various other things I won’t go into, I have hammered that pleasure center in my brain with too much reward. After 30 years of that, I don’t know if there is any healing my brain 100%. I will just keep doing the best I can and see how my chemistry settles down as the years go by.

Leave a Reply

