Finding a Friend

Me and Kari, right before she left Monday.

I’ve been struggling for a few days now with how to write about Kari’s visit, if only because I have so much to say I can’t put it all together. I still can’t, but I’ll make it easier on myself and bullet.

  • It was actually one of the best weekends I have ever had. While I didn’t get to run my marathon, spending a four-day weekend stuck at home with two of my favorite people in the universe having long talks, lots of jokes, and awesome food wasn’t really such a bad way to be stuck.
  • I thought we were close friends before, but after this weekend, it’s apparent to me how strong our connection really is. I bonded with her so easily, so deeply, so comfortably, I can’t write about it properly, no matter how I try. Ilovehersomuch.
  • It was so familiar having her here, as though her living with us for a few days was the most normal thing in the world. When she left, Steve said “it seems weird that she won’t be here now.” Indeed.
  • Aside from a couple of minor differences (like her being an inch taller), being next to her in person, hugging her, was like being with a mirror image of myself, as I always figured it would be. I’ve never had that with anyone before and I find it endearing for some reason.
  • Being so physically similar made our runs together easy and fun, as I also always figured it would be. I’m a lone wolf, as are so many runners, and I can’t imagine running with many people. But Kari. That was cool.
  • I haven’t told her this yet, but her being around, her natural attitudes, were a wonderful influence on my mental state regarding food and weight. I had an epiphany (like brain opened up and let the light shine in epiphany) about some of that while she was here that I can’t verbalize right now, but I hope to hold on to it. So far, it’s working.
  • Having someone here to cook an amazing dinner for me and Steve was THE BEST. I couldn’t stop ranting and raving about it all night on Sunday. “Someone’s cooking for me! I can just sit here! Oh my god!” Etc. That was a real treat.

I miss her already. I wan to run together again and cook together again. Why can’t we be neighbors, dammit? Stupid big country. Stupid geography.

Honestly, I never thought I would consider taking a vacation to, well, to Michigan, but Steve and I are very seriously considering putting the Grand Rapids Marathon in our calendar for October 2014. Take a week, drive up, run, hunt Midwest whitetail (one of Steve’s biggest wish list items), drive back, all with spending a few days in there of quality talking eating hanging out time. I think it can be done.

Leave a Reply

