Way More

At the beginning of every year, I have to do a new health assessment for the points program on my health insurance. This year, the questions were a little different and more in-depth. After I indicated that I didn’t drink, it opened up a set of sub-questions:

  1. Did you every drink regularly? (Yes)
  2. When you drank regularly, how many drinks of alcoholic beverages did you have in a typical week? A drink is a 12 oz. bottle or can of beer, a 5 oz. glass of wine, or a 1½ oz. shot of liquor.
  3. How long ago did you stop drinking? (More than one year ago)

It was that second question that gave me pause. The answer choices were:

  • Less than 1 drink
  • 1-7 drinks
  • 8-14 drinks
  • 15-21 drinks
  • 22 drinks or more

I picked the last one. And it was more. Way more. When I stopped to add it up, I’d have to guess it was between 40 and 50 per week. Maybe more sometimes.

Bizarre. Insane. I don’t know how I survived. Etc.

Leave a Reply

