Gallery: Field Work 2015 – Trip 3

More scenes from Saturday:

  • A hitchhiker on our truck antenna. Orb weaver, large and crazy-looking, but harmless. Let me say something about spiders: like most human beings, I have an aversion. It’s natural instinct. But spiders are part of life in the woods. I accept that and I have consciously chosen to find them fascinating instead of frightening because I must. Otherwise, I can’t hike or hunt where I do and that would be silly.
  • Summer woods mushroom growths are the coolest.
  • Steve unstrapping the secondary treestand from this double setup, in preparation of moving it elsewhere. I helped him lower it to the ground, and by helped I mean I stood on the bottom ladder rung and held on to two straps bearing the 80-90 pounds of weight of the ladder and stand as I tipped it over toward the ground into his hands. That was quite the interesting task.
  • The new double treestand setup. Cannot WAIT to sit here in the morning in October and see what passes by.
  • Taking down the feeder and putting it back up at the new treestand set. This also involved my help, as we lifted the 100-pound feeder stand and barrel into the back of the ATV and then unloaded it at the other spot. Real world fitness sign of improvement: I moved one of these in February and it felt like the maximum I could possibly lift, nearly impossible for the 5 seconds I had it in my arms. This time, it felt (relatively) like nothing. Hello, increased strength.
  • Installing a cover/blind around the two-man treestand. Steve is standing in this photo, but when he sits, all you can see is the top of his head. During hunting season, we will be covered head to toe in camo, so we will be pretty invisible to any animals. And this spot has an expansive view in multiple directions, so it’s perfect for rifle hunting.
  • Setting up one of our ground blinds in a new spot. We have high hopes for this secluded area. Traffic through here looks promising.

This is just a sample of the effort we put in. Field work is incredibly difficult, but well worth every drop of blood and sweat (and round of poison ivy, ugh) when we bring home food for our household. I only hope that this year I am able to contribute to that part of it myself.

Leave a Reply

