Monthly Mileage for April 2016: 95.50

  • 0.00 hiking
  • 92.00 running
  • 3.50 walking

I thought March was an anomaly but April felt worse. I ran a similar percentage of days both months (19/31 and 18/30), but god what a slog it was in April. I have fallen in a rut and fallen out of love with running. I know from my streaking days that this will eventually pass, that if I simply force myself to continue on, the joy will return. But man it’s been tough. I’ve never had a low period last this long. I considered taking a hiatus and doing something else but I honestly cannot imagine what. So I will carry on. For now.

And yes, zero hiking again, but my perspective on that has changed. Steve and I are, rather unexpectedly, focusing on other parts of our life this year, other interests and passions and areas where we are spending our time, money, and energy. And we are loving it. So perhaps no hiking until September in Big Sur – and that’s just fine. 

Leave a Reply

